🎧 Listen Live The Beat 99.9 FM

Live on air

We won’t rejoin ECOWAS, release Bazoum 


February 15, 2024

General Abdourahamane Tchiani, leader of the military junta in Niger Republic, has declared that none of the three Sahel countries, including Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso, which recently withdrew from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), have intentions of seeking re-admission to the regional bloc.

In an interview with newsmen in Niamey, General Tchiani reaffirmed the decision of the junta to abstain from rejoining ECOWAS, citing grievances related to the bloc’s handling of crucial supplies and financial assets.

Furthermore, General Tchiani expressed the junta’s steadfast refusal to release the ousted president, Mohammed Bazoum, who was detained following the coup on July 26, 2023.

Despite concerns about potential repercussions in terms of security, trade, and socio-economic activities, General Tchiani expressed confidence in the country’s ability to navigate these challenges following its withdrawal from ECOWAS.