🎧 Listen Live The Beat 99.9 FM

Live on air

Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso Quit ECOWAS


January 29, 2024

The military juntas in West African nations Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger jointly have announced their immediate withdrawal from the Economic Community of West African States on Sunday.

The juntas accused ECOWAS of being influenced by foreign powers, and failing to assist the military-led countries in addressing “existential” threats like terrorism. 

The juntas in a joint statement, broadcast on state television in all three nations, argued that ECOWAS also imposed inhumane sanctions aimed at reversing recent coups in their respective countries, instead of improving their situations.

Meanwhile, ECOWAS says it is yet to receive any direct formal notification from Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger Republic about their intention to withdraw from the Community.

In a statement on Sunday, the Commission said it has been working assiduously with these countries — who were founding members of the bloc in 1975 —  for the restoration of constitutional order, but remains seized with the development and shall make further pronouncements as the situation evolves.