🎧 Listen Live The Beat 99.9 FM

Live on air

FG says Nigeria Open for Engagement with Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger


January 30, 2024

The Federal Government of Nigeria has expressed sadness over the pronouncement by the Military authority in the Republic of Niger indicating that the Republics of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger have withdrawn membership of their countries from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

In a statement on Monday, a spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Francisca Omayuli, said Nigeria remained opened for engagement with the three countries, but stands with ECOWAS to emphasise due process and shared commitment to protect and strengthen the rights and welfare of all citizens of Member States.

The three countries, which are currently under military rule, said they ceased to be members of ECOWAS as the regional body had allegedly “moved away from the ideals of its founding fathers and pan-Africanism”.

The regimes have had tense ties with ECOWAS since coups took place in Niger last July, Burkina Faso in 2022 and Mali in 2020.