fbpx Senate Confirms Appointment of Service Chiefs | The Beat 99.9 FM

After four and a half hours of screening behind closed doors, the Senate on Tuesday confirmed the appointments of the four service chiefs appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari on July 13.

The new service chiefs are Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonisakin as Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General Tukur Buratai as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas as Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar as the new Chief of Air Staff.

Before the service chiefs were ushered into the Senate chambers at 11.20 am, Senate Leader, Ali Ndume, moved a motion that all the Senate’s relevant rules should be suspended to pave the way for their entry and consequent screening and confirmation. The exercise ended at exactly 4.05 pm.

Efforts by journalists to speak with the confirmed chiefs proved abortive as they declined to entertain questions from the media.

However, the Senate President Bukola Saraki, in his remarks, congratulated them, saying he had no doubt that the service chiefs would live up to their responsibilities.

He tasked them to thrash out corruption embedded in the procurement process of the armed forces, adding that widespread graft in the military had hampered its effective service delivery over the years.

Related Content