fbpx FG Bans Travellers from South Africa; Advices Citizens to Collect Second Doses of Vaccine to Close on 5th July | The Beat 99.9 FM

The Presidential Steering Committee (PSC) on the COVID-19 pandemic has added South Africa to the list of countries like India, Brazil and Turkey from where travelers are banned because of the rampant cases of COVID-19 in the country.


The Chairman of the Presidential Steering Committee and Secretary to Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Boss Mustapha, who disclosed this during a national briefing of the committee in Abuja said the addition was necessary to avoid importation of the new variants of the virus.


On the issue of Emirates flights in and out of Nigeria, the Minister for Aviation Hadi Sirika said relevant Ministries have continued to review developments while discussions are ongoing to address the issues on ground.


The Executive Director National Primary Health Care Development Agency Dr. Faisal Shuaib has advised members of the public to receive their second doses of the vaccine that will be closed on the 5th of July 2021. The Minister of Health Dr. Osagie Ehanire however noted that the PSC has escalated surveillance and risk communication, adding that it has prioritized the issue of oxygen and vaccination, especially matters relating to access and acquisition of vaccines.

Related Content