fbpx Mohamed Salah Wins Player of the Year | The Beat 99.9 FM

Mohamed Salah has been awarded the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award for 2017-18.


The Liverpool forward beat Kevin de Bruyne, Harry Kane, Leroy Sane, David Silva and David de Gea in the vote by his fellow players. Manchester City's Sane won the young player prize, while Chelsea's Fran Kirby won the Women's Player of the Year award. Bristol City's Lauren Hemp was named Women's Young Player of the Year. Mohamed Salah said, “It's an honor and especially as it's voted by the players. I am happy and proud,” “I didn't have my chance at Chelsea. It was clear I would return and show everyone my football. I think I left and came back a different person, man and player.”


Jurgen Klopp said he is “happy to have the opportunity” of being Salah's manager, adding it was an “unbelievable honour” to win the award. “It's been a fantastic ride but we still have games to go," Klopp said. "But please grab the trophy and come home. We play on Tuesday!”


So far, Salah has scored 31 goals in 33 Premier League games for Klopp's free-scoring Liverpool side and leads the race for the golden boot. The Egypt international's 31st league goal against West Brom on Saturday took him alongside Alan Shearer, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez, who share the record for a 38-game season.

Photo Credit: 

Related Content