fbpx Four Nigerian female scientists, others win L’Oréal, UNESCO Award | The Beat 99.9 FM

The L’Oréal Foundation in conjunction with UNESCO  has hounoured 12 female scientists from across Sub-Saharan Africa among which are four Nigerians . The L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO in a statement announced the recipients of the 2015 L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Fellowships. They were honoured for their work and impact in the scientific field. This year 19 applications were received from 19 countries which according to the statement released is testament to the increasing awareness of the program and their commitment to advancing women in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) “Science knows no boundaries, and that includes gender as well as age. African women have once again displayed inventiveness and excellence when it comes to the sciences. Through the great diversity of their research, this year’s Sub-Saharan African Fellows highlight the changing face of scientific research and the new disciplines that are continually emerging, forging the next generation of For Women in Science fellows. These young researchers share the thrill of curiosity and discovery, and are strong believers that science can change the world.



The recipients of the Post-Doctoral Fellowships of 10 000 Euros each are:

-Rasheedat Mahamood (Nigeria) – University of Johannesburg, South Africa
-Zebib Yunus- iThemba LABS, National Research Foundation in Cape Town, South Africa
-Jandeli Niemand- University of Pretoria, South Africa

The recipients of the Doctoral Fellowships of 5 000 Euros each are:

-Nomvano Mketo – University of Johannesburg, South Africa
-Gaelle Kafira KO – Laboratory for Solar Energy and Energy Savings (LESEE), Burkina Faso
-Shobna Sawry- University of Witwatersrand, Institute of Reproductive Health and HIV, South Africa
-Majidah Hamid-Adiamoh – Medical Research Council Unit, The Gambia and the University of Lagos, Nigeria
-Jinal Bhiman – University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
-Olubokola Adenubi (Nigeria) – University of Pretoria, South Africa
-Olotu Ifeoluwa (Nigeria) – University of Johannesburg, South Africa
-Danielle Twilley – University of Pretoria, South Africa
-Edith Chepkorir – International Center for Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE), Kenya


The scientific research areas covered by this year’s fellows are varied and include studies in the fields of life and engineering sciences, food and water security as well as health. New and emerging areas include laser science, nanotechnology, renewable energy and climate change science. These research studies are aimed at addressing the new sustainable development goals and building a sustainable future and planet.


According to Sandeep Rai, Managing Director of L’Oréal South Africa (http://www.loreal.co.za), “For the last 17 years, with the For Women In Science program, we have been fighting to advance the cause of women scientists worldwide. Much has been achieved: more than 2,000 women have been recognised worldwide, the program has gained recognition from the international scientific community, a springboard to enable women to go further and rise to greater heights. Science is part of our DNA and we are really proud of all the women who continue to make a difference in Africa through our program.”


The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Sub-Saharan Africa program in partnership with UNESCO’s African Network of Scientific and Technological Institutions (ANSTI) has reached many women across Africa. Dr Peggy Oti-Boateng, ANSTI Coordinator and one of this year’s judges, reinforced the need for “science for a sustainable future, we want female scientists to be counted.”

Related Content